Posted by: Peter | August 18, 2009

Looking on the bright side

I think I agree with Gleeman that the Twins this year are, if not dead, then at least on life support. And that was before Jason Kubel got banged on the knee and left tonight’s game.

But right now I’m watching the team play the Rangers, and the Twins have just come back from a 5-0 deficit to tie the game in the sixth. They’ll probably lose, especially considering that they already went to the bullpen after four innings. But one thing I can say about this team, that I couldn’t say about any of the other incarnations of the post-1990’s, resurgent Twins: they can really hit. After watching the good pitching-bad hitters-weak division combination for so many years, I’d forgotten what it’s like to watch a team that’s capable of hitting its way back into a game at any time.

Now if only someone could hold on to that lead for a few innings…


Leave a comment

Categories